The Super Base
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
   Forum Index -> Balance & Strategies
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
President Washington
Saxon Cavalry
Saxon Cavalry


Joined: 27 Sep 2009
Posts: 1601

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:46 pm    Post subject: The Super Base

I always have two Barracks, two Stables, and two Artillery Foundries. I try to keep two Docks. However, I sometimes building massive bases in order to produce massive armies when I have plenty of resources but not enough installations to churn them out.

This can be applied to any military building, but usually my largest bases are Barracks. I construct anywhere from five to twenty Barracks in my town.

Does anybody else use this strategy when they can afford to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAOL
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 23251
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:09 pm    Post subject:

Why wouldn't you?

I usually try to spread out little islands of military buildings on random places of the map.
_________________
Join
WWLLUASCLWPJ
We Who Loathe Long or Unnecessary Abbreviations and Similar Clusters of Letters Without Proper Justification

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Name
arcalion
Councillor
Councillor


Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 3147
Location: colombia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:32 pm    Post subject:

the super base no is important..... i only think in a better def
_________________
The first modder in imported models in AOEIII.
TFN leader!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
masskiller
Tsar
Tsar


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 6293
Location: Costa Rica

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 4:03 pm    Post subject: Re: The Super Base

President Washington wrote:
I always have two Barracks, two Stables, and two Artillery Foundries. I try to keep two Docks. However, I sometimes building massive bases in order to produce massive armies when I have plenty of resources but not enough installations to churn them out.

This can be applied to any military building, but usually my largest bases are Barracks. I construct anywhere from five to twenty Barracks in my town.

Does anybody else use this strategy when they can afford to.


I usually have three barracks, it's a versatile way to make upgrades and army in a quick way without making useless barracks or stables.
_________________
Slowly getting into the indie game "business".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Hoop Thrower
Councillor
Councillor


Joined: 16 Mar 2010
Posts: 744
Location: Chile

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:41 am    Post subject:

My idea of a super base is to be completly walled up, with lots of outposts and forts and artillery, so no unit can get close enough to damage it. lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
masskiller
Tsar
Tsar


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 6293
Location: Costa Rica

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 1:26 am    Post subject:

I rarely use walls, but I use outposts and fully upgrade them, not having walls isn't a problem for me, since I always mantain an army in base unless my victory is fully achieved.
_________________
Slowly getting into the indie game "business".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
President Washington
Saxon Cavalry
Saxon Cavalry


Joined: 27 Sep 2009
Posts: 1601

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 1:31 am    Post subject:

Hoop Thrower wrote:
My idea of a super base is to be completly walled up, with lots of outposts and forts and artillery, so no unit can get close enough to damage it. lol


That's not what I was talking about. Mad But okay. Neutral
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Harkimo
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 10 May 2009
Posts: 7801

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:18 am    Post subject:

Hoop Thrower wrote:
My idea of a super base is to be completely walled up, with lots of outposts and forts and artillery, so no unit can get close enough to damage it. lol


Yeah, 2nd that one. I don't usually care about spamming barracks for better training time, like the AI does in Deathmatch.

Docks can be important to build lots of however, especially if you're facing a naval civ like the Portuguese. Repairing ships takes a while, and if you haven't got a naval supremacy yet, ships' limit makes a lot of problem. So, you need a large system of docks to be able to send your frigates into battle as soon as possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
arcalion
Councillor
Councillor


Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 3147
Location: colombia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:56 pm    Post subject:

Hoop Thrower wrote:
My idea of a super base is to be completly walled up, with lots of outposts and forts and artillery, so no unit can get close enough to damage it. lol


me too hoop, but i try to use the outpost in frontiers....
_________________
The first modder in imported models in AOEIII.
TFN leader!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
fatookit
Austrian Line Infantry
Austrian Line Infantry


Joined: 28 Jun 2009
Posts: 59
Location: Hong Kong, China

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 3:49 am    Post subject:

I personally don't building outpost or forts at all, never do I build Wall.
Fortifications in AoE III are simply too fragile, and are less useful then what in AoC.

Instead, batches of cheap Crossbowmen, Pikemen or Handgunners, might be more useful to defend my base.

For me, the Base might have two Barracks and a Stables, sometimes an Artillery Foundry, since taking care of Artillery is annoying, I use Pikeman or Cavalry to burn buildings instead. The only "Artillery" I would use is Sapper.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
masskiller
Tsar
Tsar


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 6293
Location: Costa Rica

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:32 am    Post subject:

I differ, Horse Artillery and Falconets kick ass when used properly.
_________________
Slowly getting into the indie game "business".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
fatookit
Austrian Line Infantry
Austrian Line Infantry


Joined: 28 Jun 2009
Posts: 59
Location: Hong Kong, China

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 5:06 am    Post subject:

masskiller wrote:
I differ, Horse Artillery and Falconets kick ass when used properly.

Yes, but coins are not that easy to accumulate, especially in middle game.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Harkimo
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 10 May 2009
Posts: 7801

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 8:56 am    Post subject:

Indeed.
Walls are to weak to have any use, and you cant build stuff close to your enemy, which makes it bad to use in offence too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
arcalion
Councillor
Councillor


Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 3147
Location: colombia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 5:34 pm    Post subject:

bah... if the enemy atack the center of you colony.... and you dont havent any army???.... the wall can breakk for a good time the enemies...
_________________
The first modder in imported models in AOEIII.
TFN leader!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
President Washington
Saxon Cavalry
Saxon Cavalry


Joined: 27 Sep 2009
Posts: 1601

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:40 pm    Post subject:

(claps) Correct, Arcalion. If I'm defending my base, do I want needless armies loitering around, taking up population slots? No. So, I'll wall up and fortify with Outposts, sometimes a Fort if my base is too large to be completely defended. Then I upgrade completely. Usually a Fortified Outpost will be capable of taking out their wandering armies, and in any situation I buy enough time to an emergency defense army trained (with my 2-5 Barracks!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arcalion
Councillor
Councillor


Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 3147
Location: colombia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:51 pm    Post subject:

good, and using the fort!!
_________________
The first modder in imported models in AOEIII.
TFN leader!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum Index -> Balance & Strategies All times are GMT
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group | Page design by Tilanus Commodor & michfrm.