Hi Guys, I'm new and I have a problem
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
   Forum Index -> Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DarkMantis
Austrian Line Infantry
Austrian Line Infantry


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 85
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 3:23 pm    Post subject: Hi Guys, I'm new and I have a problem

Hi, I have just completed the registration. I have Age of Empires III+The Warchiefs+The Asian Dynasties. Now I have installed NE+Hotfix that i found on this website but i have a problem when i try to load a saved game, it says: "Unable to load the game" Before the installation of the Hotfix it worked well, now what happened? I already tryed to uninstall and reinstall the game completely. I have Windows XP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAOL
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 23251
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 3:41 pm    Post subject:

Hello and welcome to the forums Smile

The issue with loading saved games (and recorded games) is known. Sadly, the cause of the problem is not known. Hence there is no fix for it as of yet.
_________________
Join
WWLLUASCLWPJ
We Who Loathe Long or Unnecessary Abbreviations and Similar Clusters of Letters Without Proper Justification

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Name
Harkimo
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 10 May 2009
Posts: 7801

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 3:42 pm    Post subject:

This is a known bug. Not known what causes it or how to solve it.

On another note, welcome to the forums! Enjoy the Off topic forums lol
(@Tilanus, we really need to make something about this constant creation of new threads as soon as someone has a problem. It's only gonna get harder to navigate around here.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SAOL
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 23251
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 3:53 pm    Post subject:

Harkimo wrote:

On another note, welcome to the forums! Enjoy the Off topic forums lol
(@Tilanus, we really need to make something about this constant creation of new threads as soon as someone has a problem. It's only gonna get harder to navigate around here.)
That's why I made the FAQ (in which this question is answered).
_________________
Join
WWLLUASCLWPJ
We Who Loathe Long or Unnecessary Abbreviations and Similar Clusters of Letters Without Proper Justification

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Name
DarkMantis
Austrian Line Infantry
Austrian Line Infantry


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 85
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 4:10 pm    Post subject:

Ah, ok sorry. I saw the FAQ but i didn't find my problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roy1012
Infantry Officer
Infantry Officer


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 1279
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 7:47 pm    Post subject:

Ah, good old XP. still have it!
what might be hppening is you didnt unpack the hotfix files correctly, as this was a problem with me. ill make a vid and post on youtube if i have the time today, maybe tomorrow. until then, play w/ out hotfix
_________________
Roy1012

Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/RoySOTR

Feel free to add me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAOL
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 23251
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 9:02 pm    Post subject:

roy1012 wrote:
Ah, good old XP. still have it!
what might be hppening is you didnt unpack the hotfix files correctly, as this was a problem with me. ill make a vid and post on youtube if i have the time today, maybe tomorrow. until then, play w/ out hotfix
Are you saying that you know the problem is caused by something in the hotfix, in other words that the problem doesn't exist if you don't have the hotfix installed?
_________________
Join
WWLLUASCLWPJ
We Who Loathe Long or Unnecessary Abbreviations and Similar Clusters of Letters Without Proper Justification

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Name
roy1012
Infantry Officer
Infantry Officer


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 1279
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 9:56 pm    Post subject:

Well what happened sometimes is i didnt unpack hotfix correctly, and thats why.
_________________
Roy1012

Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/RoySOTR

Feel free to add me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAOL
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 23251
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 11:19 pm    Post subject:

No, are you saying it is possible to load saved games if you haven't installed the hotfix?

Because... I don't think that's the case. But if it is, it'd probably be good as it probably would become more easy to identify the problem.
_________________
Join
WWLLUASCLWPJ
We Who Loathe Long or Unnecessary Abbreviations and Similar Clusters of Letters Without Proper Justification

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Name
roy1012
Infantry Officer
Infantry Officer


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 1279
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 11:21 pm    Post subject:

I never said anything about save games. what im saying is, that i couldnt play NE if u intsall hotfix wrong.
_________________
Roy1012

Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/RoySOTR

Feel free to add me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAOL
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 23251
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 11:22 pm    Post subject:

But the thread was about him not being able to load save games, not being unable to play the game at all...
_________________
Join
WWLLUASCLWPJ
We Who Loathe Long or Unnecessary Abbreviations and Similar Clusters of Letters Without Proper Justification

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Name
roy1012
Infantry Officer
Infantry Officer


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 1279
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 11:33 pm    Post subject:

now i dont even remember....but all i know is if u install hotfix wrong, then u cant play. so this might have happened. working on youtube vid on how to install soon.
_________________
Roy1012

Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/RoySOTR

Feel free to add me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DarkMantis
Austrian Line Infantry
Austrian Line Infantry


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 85
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 8:05 am    Post subject:

Good Morning, I'm doing some experiments. I have noticed that if you don't replace the DataPY.Bar of the hotfix you can load saved games succesfully. The other files in the folder "data" and "bonus" can be replaced normally. So there is something wrong in DataPY.Bar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roy1012
Infantry Officer
Infantry Officer


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 1279
Location: United States

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 10:57 am    Post subject:

well, i put datapy in aoeIII folder then opened both data folders and put all 3 in data from hotfix into data folder of aoeIII, and it worked.
_________________
Roy1012

Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/RoySOTR

Feel free to add me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAOL
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 23251
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 1:50 pm    Post subject:

roy1012 wrote:
well, i put datapy in aoeIII folder then opened both data folders and put all 3 in data from hotfix into data folder of aoeIII, and it worked.
Roy, not to sound negative, but could you perhaps start reading what others have written before you blurt out things with no actual relevance? Smile
_________________
Join
WWLLUASCLWPJ
We Who Loathe Long or Unnecessary Abbreviations and Similar Clusters of Letters Without Proper Justification

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Name
DarkMantis
Austrian Line Infantry
Austrian Line Infantry


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 85
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 3:58 pm    Post subject:

Yes, the game works normally, the problem is that i can't load any saved games
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum Index -> Technical Support All times are GMT
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group | Page design by Tilanus Commodor & michfrm.