Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Forum Index -> News
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 4:20 pm    Post subject: Modding Report #19

Ha! Modding Report!

Great, isn't it? Finally, after months, I can present you all the progress that's been made on NE, and it's not been few! And that considering the fact that other things were keeping me busy. My holidays are over now and I promise you, my last two semesters will be the hardest for sure. Nonetheless I always managed *somehow* to work on NE. So you can still count with updates and reports!

Let's begin with the seemingly boring, but actually essential stuff, which causes quite a lot of work:

• Some may know that I'm just continuing NE and haven't been working with the code until NE 2.01. That's why I'm basically rather modding a mod and less modding AoE3. Less people will know that I'm actually studying game design in the 5th semester. Now it starts to pay out now in terms of better project management that comes with a better documentation of what has been analyzed and is planned/being worked on. That means I'm applying classical tools of the game development industry to the project's organization. To shorten this (as I guess nobody except the modders is really interested) let me just mention some points that I consider important:

• A more detailed vision for all departments (visuals/aesthetics, UI, gameplay feeling, content, etc.)
    • Production/Asset table sheets (3d models, textures, icons, sound, ..)
    • Compact team overview with responsibilities, tasks and activity status
    • QA/Self-analyzation

Here some typical sheets, I blurred them out because they would unnecessarily reveal additional data and we all wanna stay excited Devil