Removing the HC (not the civ)

 
   Forum Index -> Mods & Maps
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
baumeister55
Settler
Settler


Joined: 08 Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:57 pm    Post subject: Removing the HC (not the civ)

Hello guys,

My question is: How to remove a homecity?
This means I don't want people to get things from any homecity deck, I don't want that people can create a homecity. They can just play the civ as it is in Skirmish.
I don't just want to remove the code from any file in the Data.bar file, I also want to remove all those models.
And if I remove this, on the mainscreen it will most likely be black. Is there any way to use a picture? So you see a picture but in the left corner down you can switch between Single-Player and Skirmish and all that stuff.

Your help would be great :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAOL
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 23251
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:53 pm    Post subject:

I don't know anything about these things, but I have one question.

Why would you want to do that?
_________________
Join
WWLLUASCLWPJ
We Who Loathe Long or Unnecessary Abbreviations and Similar Clusters of Letters Without Proper Justification

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Name
roy1012
Infantry Officer
Infantry Officer


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 1279
Location: United States

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 11:13 pm    Post subject:

SAOL wrote:
I don't know anything about these things, but I have one question.

Why would you want to do that?

Probably so no civ has an unfair advantage. Without the 2 cav cards, france is no more OP than say, Britain.
_________________
Roy1012

Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/RoySOTR

Feel free to add me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ca Putt
NE Assistant
NE Assistant


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 3460
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 11:50 pm    Post subject:

balancewise that's nonsence, All civs are "balanced" with the HC in mind. Some rely more on the HC than others. For example:
Spain looses it's only economic bonus.
Germans and Japanese don't have access to their special decks.
European civs don't get factories or forts, which compared to Asians' and NA civs' decks are nigh mandatory cards.
Japanese loose Daimyo, Shogun and Dojo.
Germans loose the Settlerwagon
Dutch are stuck with considerably less Villager capacity than other civs.
Ottomans loose the Spahi(ok those are not that helpfull anyway)

now that does seem balanced Wink
_________________
Imagine not that these four walls contain the Mighty Owl of Thebes. For, gentles all, beauty sits most closely to them it can construe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5078
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 12:22 am    Post subject:

It's not nonsense, because the more unique content you add to a closed system the more unpredictable cases of imbalance will likely occur. You should know, since this is one of the reasons why the HCs in NE3 will be smaller, more compact and a lil more streamlined. Wink

Afaik, HCs can not be disabled completely. But you can change the UI and sounds like that, that players can not access it anymore.
_________________
Napoleonic Era Project Leader


** Support me to support NE **

Test your Age of Empires knowledge in my
Grand Age of Empires quiz! King Green!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum Index -> Mods & Maps All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group | Page design by Tilanus Commodor & michfrm.