NE 2.1.7b now available
Go to page 1, 2  Next
 
   Forum Index -> News
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5078
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:56 am    Post subject: NE 2.1.7b now available

Hey everybody,

it's just been a week since the last release of NE 2.1.7, which provided Mac users for the first time with an installer and did rebalance and update a couple of civs too (i.e. the Germans). Due to a major visual bug (caused by bad file packing) we decided to quickly re-release a fixed version (and not a patch).

Therefore NE 2.1.7b will stabilize the recently released NE 2.1.7. Apart from fixing the major visual bug, this version also adds a new voice set for Polish and some new graphics for Americans.

You can download NE 2.1.7b and read the updated release notes on our downloads page:


(click to open download page)

Installation requirements:

NE 2.1.7b requires the latest AoE3 patches, but no prior NE installations.
You can install NE 2.1.7b over your NE if you did not install versions earlier than NE 2.1.6.
Otherwise please install NE over an umodded and patched AoE3.



And now we will crawl back into our Skype chatrooms, working documents and surround us with code, sketches and graphics and prepare the next big thing. Wink


Happy Napoleonic gaming!


The NE Team

(Tilanus Commodor, kangcliff, JRussell, Da Bozz & Ca Putt)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
SAOL
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 23251
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:50 pm    Post subject:

What is this sourcery?! I've hardly had time to try 2.1.7 during this week of hell, and you trow on an extra letter? Surprised

A first. A good one. Mr. Green
_________________
Join
WWLLUASCLWPJ
We Who Loathe Long or Unnecessary Abbreviations and Similar Clusters of Letters Without Proper Justification

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Name
Ivenend
French Conscript
French Conscript


Joined: 09 Aug 2011
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:03 am    Post subject:

A little suggestion:

Could you please change the icon of the 'Electorate of Brandenburg'? The current icon is not the coat of arms of the Electorate of Brandenburg, but the modern coat of arms of Brandenburg state.
The coat of arms of the Electorate of Brandenburg in history is like this:

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caveman909
NE Assistant
NE Assistant


Joined: 10 Jun 2010
Posts: 479
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 8:51 pm    Post subject:

Amazing how you guys keep on getting closer to the final version of this mod, just bravo Smile
_________________
You must be the change you wish to see in the world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5078
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2014 9:21 pm    Post subject:

@Ivenend: There are a couple of possible Brandenburg flags, but they either look too much like the Prussian flag or have details like the CoA you posted, that would get lost when scaling down the image to icon size. So that's why I went with the modern one.
_________________
Napoleonic Era Project Leader


** Support me to support NE **

Test your Age of Empires knowledge in my
Grand Age of Empires quiz! King Green!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Barbaros
Explorer
Explorer


Joined: 05 Dec 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 1:44 am    Post subject:

Great mod. I appreciate your work and I'm really grateful for it.
My only problem with AoE was always the population limit.
Could you just somehow change it for the next update?
Thanks again for your hard work Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GamerLuna
Continental Marine
Continental Marine


Joined: 06 Dec 2014
Posts: 140
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 9:44 am    Post subject:

I agree with the population limit , would like something like the forgotten empires has a thousand lol , but even 300 would be nice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caveman909
NE Assistant
NE Assistant


Joined: 10 Jun 2010
Posts: 479
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 10:38 am    Post subject:

If theres too much, I'm afraid there could be too much lag (like having 100 canons for each player, urgh.
(and im not even speaking of playing online)
_________________
You must be the change you wish to see in the world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GamerLuna
Continental Marine
Continental Marine


Joined: 06 Dec 2014
Posts: 140
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 12:10 pm    Post subject:

Cant there be some option to make how much population is possibole either trough an external program or ingame? I know for certain AoE II Has that option and reccomends that populations above X number require fast computer to play smooth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barbaros
Explorer
Explorer


Joined: 05 Dec 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2014 9:37 pm    Post subject:

The Improvement Mod has 300 population limit and it runs fine. Even if me and my friens play LAN via the internet. But there is not an external program to change the population limit. So I'm in a real struggle. I don't know to which Mod I should play lol Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GamerLuna
Continental Marine
Continental Marine


Joined: 06 Dec 2014
Posts: 140
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2014 10:23 pm    Post subject:

Would like to see it upped to 300 the population limit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAOL
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 23251
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2014 12:52 pm    Post subject:

I actually think 200 is quite lagom. The mechanics aren't really well suited for 'epic' battles anyway.
_________________
Join
WWLLUASCLWPJ
We Who Loathe Long or Unnecessary Abbreviations and Similar Clusters of Letters Without Proper Justification

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Name
Da Bozz
NE Veteran
NE Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 298

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:08 pm    Post subject:

Spoiler:



The maximum I got in this game was 430/200 popcap + natives. Wasn't working very fine anymore, very laggy.

And it wasn't epic, AI and pathfinding don't work with so much units.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAOL
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 23251
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 1:18 pm    Post subject:

That's... quite a lot. I don't think I've ever broken 400 before.
_________________
Join
WWLLUASCLWPJ
We Who Loathe Long or Unnecessary Abbreviations and Similar Clusters of Letters Without Proper Justification

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Name
GamerLuna
Continental Marine
Continental Marine


Joined: 06 Dec 2014
Posts: 140
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 8:24 pm    Post subject:

Cant you optimize it for it to work smoother with large amounts of units?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5078
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:10 pm    Post subject:

That's hardly possible. I mean, we can't modify the engine.
_________________
Napoleonic Era Project Leader


** Support me to support NE **

Test your Age of Empires knowledge in my
Grand Age of Empires quiz! King Green!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum Index -> News All times are GMT
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group | Page design by Tilanus Commodor & michfrm.