Napoleon AI bugged

 
   Forum Index -> Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Girafarig
French Conscript
French Conscript


Joined: 02 Feb 2016
Posts: 25
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 3:21 am    Post subject: Napoleon AI bugged

Hi!

I couldn't find a thread about this specific bug, so I don't know if you're aware of it and if there's a solution coming. I think this is actually an old issue, though, so I apologize beforehand if this thread is redundant.

Anyway: the Napoleon (French) AI fails to progress to the Colonial Age and beyond. This doesn't always happen – I'd say around 60% of the time, though, he just sits there. His score increases –so he's gathering resources–, he builds some towers around his camp, but he never moves on to the next age. If you attack him, he quickly realizes he has no troops and surrenders like… uh… not a French general. (?)

Anyway. When you have Napoleon as an ally, this happens as well and you end up with dead weight as an ally. However, if you instruct him to go for a quick attack – which means building troops, which means going to Colonial – he does that effortlessly. I'm no AI programmer, but I guess there's something wrong with the strategy Napoleon picks when going for a boom or something.

Thanks for reading. I love this mod, keep up the good work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ande59
Italian Utili
Italian Utili


Joined: 29 Jan 2013
Posts: 163
Location: Australia, "Down Under"

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 5:10 am    Post subject:

I've also noticed this bug a few times... but for me, it only happens in FFA games.
_________________
A Roman walks into a bar, holds up two fingers and says "Five beers please."

"German Uhlan spam is lame" -StrelletToIndustrial
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crazy Crusher
Austrian Line Infantry
Austrian Line Infantry


Joined: 15 Jul 2014
Posts: 73
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 5:22 pm    Post subject:

I've noticed that myself.
_________________
I crush crazily.
https://twitter.com/CrazyCrusher2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UnstoppableStreletsy
Continental Marine
Continental Marine


Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 139
Location: United States of Africa

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 12:50 am    Post subject: napoleon

I think it is just a easter egg from the ne team that the french while being the spotlight of the mod need to have some tie to thier wimpy past and failure to win a war even though they have the men and technology to do so. I am quick to assume there is more words in the french language for surrender than there are for colors and countries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Name ESO
Firestorm
NE Guard
NE Guard


Joined: 02 Jun 2015
Posts: 94
Location: Somewhere in the Balkans

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 8:50 am    Post subject:

@unstoppable streletsy
The fact that France lost many great wars during XVII, XVIII and XIX centuries is because France was so powerful that many countries forged alliances against them. Louis XIV and Napoleon had to face half Europe at the same time but both of them won many battles. The French are proud peoples and has reason to be. Their country has been a leading power in Europe and the world since early middle ages.
_________________
The ones who thinks that the Age of Piracy is over are deluding themselves!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UnstoppableStreletsy
Continental Marine
Continental Marine


Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 139
Location: United States of Africa

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 12:16 pm    Post subject:

I mean it is more of a easter egg to post napoleon france around ww1 and forward (france had to be saved too many times by britian and the u.s from germany.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Name ESO
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5081
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 2:39 pm    Post subject:

Ha ha Razz Yes, there is some bitter irony in this bug, I approve. I have it on my list for the next version. Hopefully I can figure it out til then.
_________________
Napoleonic Era Project Leader


** Support me to support NE **

Test your Age of Empires knowledge in my
Grand Age of Empires quiz! King Green!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
UnstoppableStreletsy
Continental Marine
Continental Marine


Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 139
Location: United States of Africa

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:42 pm    Post subject: french

i assume i have higher portion of french blood than german blood to due to the fact I am "a biased prick" without even trying 7/8ths of the time for that reason.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Name ESO
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum Index -> Technical Support All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group | Page design by Tilanus Commodor & michfrm.