Texturing Tutorial
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
   Forum Index -> Mods & Maps
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Did you like this tutorial?
Yes, very helpful!
50%
 50%  [ 13 ]
You get the idea of it, but it could be more detailed.
11%
 11%  [ 3 ]
I understood just a few parts of it.
19%
 19%  [ 5 ]
What the hell are you talking about?!
19%
 19%  [ 5 ]
Total Votes : 26

Author Message
buggy123
Austrian Line Infantry
Austrian Line Infantry


Joined: 21 May 2009
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 2:04 am    Post subject:

fine let's try again...

That tutorials really helpful even if it is a bit complicated for a 8th grader like me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BazzBrother
Chevauxleger
Chevauxleger


Joined: 30 Jul 2007
Posts: 3395
Location: CA

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 2:10 am    Post subject:

Got it. Loled at it. Im good.

Also, yeah the instructions are simple enough, just that the time it takes to set up varies from person and age I guess.
_________________
Join the *Ignore SAOL* club TODAY!
http://woolooloo.ytmnd.com/

http://www.zombo.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buggy123
Austrian Line Infantry
Austrian Line Infantry


Joined: 21 May 2009
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 5:02 am    Post subject:

in the texture square i understand the helmet/face/clothing/legs/etc. But the weapons part (2-D)...I don't get it. How did that curvy thing become the sword/dagger? And the black part (3-D) is the part that is not included in the texture right?

also,

Quote:
You can see the numbers and letters outside the texture I added. They'll help you to understand the parts of the unit:


what if we do if they're different? the texture of a rodelero is weird, the shield is on the upper right and etc. Do we just follow the rules of the original texture?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ca Putt
NE Assistant
NE Assistant


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 3460
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 10:05 am    Post subject:

always follow the rules of the texture you're editing. the Longbowman is just an example.
First step is to find out where which area is in the File if you get stuck here just make a test texture with lots of colors and test the unit ingame. Now you see where wich color is on the model and thus where to find feet, hands etc. don't forget that a texture often includes parts you don't need, like a quiver, a bag, a shield or a weapon. you can leave those areas black to minimise confusion Mr. Green.

for weaopns it's best to just ignore them in 9 out of 10 cases, as you most probably will replace them and most people are ok with a metal color sword etc. thus just ignore the Weapon area on the texture. don't let it confuse you.
_________________
Imagine not that these four walls contain the Mighty Owl of Thebes. For, gentles all, beauty sits most closely to them it can construe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5081
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 1:59 pm    Post subject:

Tutorial improved. Cool
_________________
Napoleonic Era Project Leader


** Support me to support NE **

Test your Age of Empires knowledge in my
Grand Age of Empires quiz! King Green!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
buggy123
Austrian Line Infantry
Austrian Line Infantry


Joined: 21 May 2009
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 2:05 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
be aware that you should enlarge the image just with x2 or x4 but not with x3 or x5 cause otherwise you will most probably mess up your texture and it won't work.


x6 does not work either folks...I learned that the hard way lol. Also, I think x8 is ok as well? though I'm not sure why you would want it so big...but still, just a note Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5081
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 5:19 pm    Post subject:

You learned it the hard way, lol. I told you to scale it down. That's how you're thanking me, being a smart-ass? Razz
_________________
Napoleonic Era Project Leader


** Support me to support NE **

Test your Age of Empires knowledge in my
Grand Age of Empires quiz! King Green!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
buggy123
Austrian Line Infantry
Austrian Line Infantry


Joined: 21 May 2009
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 10:38 pm    Post subject:

ahaha ok ok everything I accomplished was thanks to you mighty Tilanus Commodor Praying Smiley Praying Smiley Praying Smiley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5081
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 10:58 pm    Post subject:

Actually I wanted you to regret it, not to make a fool of yourself. I'm really not interested in sycophants who want to join my team. Razz
_________________
Napoleonic Era Project Leader


** Support me to support NE **

Test your Age of Empires knowledge in my
Grand Age of Empires quiz! King Green!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
buggy123
Austrian Line Infantry
Austrian Line Infantry


Joined: 21 May 2009
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 2:57 am    Post subject:

sycophant? Neutral no idea what that means...tone your vocabulary down to middle school level please XD.

But seriously, I really do appreciate you taking the time to help me out. I know that I might not be the fastest learner, and you have a lot of other stuff to do. But I'm trying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ValonTheTalon
Continental Marine
Continental Marine


Joined: 04 Jan 2010
Posts: 145
Location: China

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:29 am    Post subject:

OOOH question!!!

OK so waht if I just want to change the color of a certain unit's textures
can I just convert it to tga and then change its colors then convert it back to ddt and be able to use it?

cause I did do this once and it didnt work, all that came out was pretty much nothing D:

oh yeah just another quick question to add in because I'm noit allowed to post another topic in this board XD

I'm planning to make a new civ, except this new civ is not going to be something completely new and it's just going to be a civ that already exists, U.S.A

I'm planning to use Boston as homecity and change it a bit but when I read a tutorial on heaven games forum (I think the tut was made by argulius [something like that]) he said that if I made a civ I will not be able to play against it in skirmish mode, and does that mean I have to be stuck with that civ? I know that NE has added civs and can anyone tell me how to make or duplicate a personality (AI) and just change the voices? and how do I make it so that the civ can be chosen when I press " create new homecity"?

Thanks in advance!
_________________
THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS HOLY CRAP UNLESS YOU HAD SWISS CHEESE!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Drago
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 14307

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:11 pm    Post subject:

maknig a civ? hard
editing the AI? harder
_________________
ROMANVS SVM, ET VICTVS SVM VOBIS QVASI SINE CORNIBVS CATAPHRACTVS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5081
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:00 pm    Post subject:

ValonTheTalon wrote:
OOOH question!!!

OK so waht if I just want to change the color of a certain unit's textures
can I just convert it to tga and then change its colors then convert it back to ddt and be able to use it?

cause I did do this once and it didnt work, all that came out was pretty much nothing D:

Yes, that's the way you do it. You need to pay attention to the directories, which means that you have to extract the file you want to replace in "Age Of Empires III" and not anywhere else.

If a unit is located in : art/units/infantry_ranged/skirmisher/skirmisher.ddt

then you need all these folders as well.

Quote:
oh yeah just another quick question to add in because I'm noit allowed to post another topic in this board XD

That's wrong. You are allowed to post everywhere, but not to make thousands of topics about every pinky detail.

Ask questions in threads that have the same or a similar topic. If there should be a question that doesnt fit in any existing thread, you post your question in your personal thread, but you will not open a new thread.


Quote:
I'm planning to make a new civ, except this new civ is not going to be something completely new and it's just going to be a civ that already exists, U.S.A

I'm planning to use Boston as homecity and change it a bit but when I read a tutorial on heaven games forum (I think the tut was made by argulius [something like that]) he said that if I made a civ I will not be able to play against it in skirmish mode, and does that mean I have to be stuck with that civ? I know that NE has added civs and can anyone tell me how to make or duplicate a personality (AI) and just change the voices? and how do I make it so that the civ can be chosen when I press " create new homecity"?

Thanks in advance!

This thread is called Texturing Tutorial, I'm not going to answer that question here and I dont want to see anyone else doing that! Exclamation

Ask that in another thread, which fits that topic better than any other.
_________________
Napoleonic Era Project Leader


** Support me to support NE **

Test your Age of Empires knowledge in my
Grand Age of Empires quiz! King Green!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ValonTheTalon
Continental Marine
Continental Marine


Joined: 04 Jan 2010
Posts: 145
Location: China

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:42 pm    Post subject:

Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad sorry
_________________
THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS HOLY CRAP UNLESS YOU HAD SWISS CHEESE!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
arcalion
Councillor
Councillor


Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 3147
Location: colombia

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 12:33 am    Post subject:

i canīt understand this tutorial......... it very hard..... but i can make a new texture with photoshop with a litle experience....... but first: we need see my new units of example
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
sufjanfan
Gatling Gun
Gatling Gun


Joined: 27 Aug 2009
Posts: 2298
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 7:47 pm    Post subject:

I just have a quick question. While working on maps, sometimes I need to modify terrain. Does the bumpmap alpha serve the same purpose for terrains as it does for units/buildings?
_________________
RM and AI scriptor for War of the Triple Alliance. Try it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum Index -> Mods & Maps All times are GMT
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group | Page design by Tilanus Commodor & michfrm.