Suggestions (ne.elpea.net)
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 13, 14, 15  Next
 
   Forum Index -> Website feedback
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SAOL
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 23251
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:52 am    Post subject:

Background Spoiler:



Resolution is 1440x900. As you can see the picture is not wide enough.
_________________
Join
WWLLUASCLWPJ
We Who Loathe Long or Unnecessary Abbreviations and Similar Clusters of Letters Without Proper Justification

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Name
chris17
Sharpshooter
Sharpshooter


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1055
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:30 pm    Post subject:

i am facing the same problem with SAOL
_________________
Member of WotTA team
http://wotta.com.br/phpBB3/index.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5080
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:53 pm    Post subject:

Hmmm, yes. As you probably know highest resolution in AoE3 is 1280x1024, the image is already manipulated to get a greater width. It seems I need a new image or some technical advice. Gotta look on this, thanks so far for the feedback!
_________________
Napoleonic Era Project Leader


** Support me to support NE **

Test your Age of Empires knowledge in my
Grand Age of Empires quiz! King Green!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Drago
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 14307

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:17 pm    Post subject:

Tilanus Commodor wrote:
Hmmm, yes. As you probably know highest resolution in AoE3 is 1280x1024, the image is already manipulated to get a greater width. It seems I need a new image or some technical advice. Gotta look on this, thanks so far for the feedback!


Luckily I have a 1280x1024 monitor, so no probs Mr. Green I love the pic and the rest of the changes, although I don't thing the blue at the headers fits that well.
_________________
ROMANVS SVM, ET VICTVS SVM VOBIS QVASI SINE CORNIBVS CATAPHRACTVS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAOL
Emperor
Emperor


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 23251
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:31 pm    Post subject:

I actually thought the blue looked rather good on this beige.

Quote:
Hmmm, yes. As you probably know highest resolution in AoE3 is 1280x1024,
I don't know anything about that, I only know that my resolution list shows this

Maybe it's just ratios though, I dunno. It seems not to be, because when I took a screenshot it was saved with a resolution of 1440x900.

Since the middle part is covered anyway, can't you just cut the background in two and put a blob of anything (maybe some Easter egg Devil ) in between to make it wider?
_________________
Join
WWLLUASCLWPJ
We Who Loathe Long or Unnecessary Abbreviations and Similar Clusters of Letters Without Proper Justification

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Name
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5080
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 6:27 pm    Post subject:

SAOL wrote:
I actually thought the blue looked rather good on this beige.

Yeap.

Quote:
Quote:
Hmmm, yes. As you probably know highest resolution in AoE3 is 1280x1024,
I don't know anything about that, I only know that my resolution list shows this

Maybe it's just ratios though, I dunno. It seems not to be, because when I took a screenshot it was saved with a resolution of 1440x900.

Yes, I thought of this just after posting, that it is certainly dependent on the monitor's capabilities.

Quote:
Since the middle part is covered anyway, can't you just cut the background in two and put a blob of anything (maybe some Easter egg Devil ) in between to make it wider?

It's not always covered and I'm not that much of a geek to make two divided backgrounds. The problem really is the difference in user's monitor resolutions. What is fine for me, is bad for you. When I'd do it the way you want it, there is uncertainity about the width of the mostly covered middle. I'd really like people to see special scenes and not only a half of it.
_________________
Napoleonic Era Project Leader


** Support me to support NE **

Test your Age of Empires knowledge in my
Grand Age of Empires quiz! King Green!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dark Force
Italian Utili
Italian Utili


Joined: 27 Jan 2011
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 5:40 am    Post subject:

Out of curiosity would it be possible to enable the <s>strikethrough</s> html or the [s]strikethrough[/s] BB? I keep using it and then having to edit lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5080
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 9:50 am    Post subject:

Ha, I have been asking myself the same. I'll have a look on this. Wink
_________________
Napoleonic Era Project Leader


** Support me to support NE **

Test your Age of Empires knowledge in my
Grand Age of Empires quiz! King Green!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Alexander The Great
French Conscript
French Conscript


Joined: 26 May 2010
Posts: 41
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 9:06 pm    Post subject:

I made a sketch, how do I want see this site. Don't bother text colours, I were too lazy to change them.
http://www.kotikone.fi/AOE3/screens/suggest.png

How much there's possible to change example columns bg pictures? All of them?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5080
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 11:30 pm    Post subject:

I need to say it looks warm. I like your idea with the icons, we're completely lacking any AoE3 graphics here. If you like, you can continue optimizing it. Once they're good enough I'll figure out which files I need to replace and we can do that. Wink

I'll talk to michfrm concerning the background. He splitted them already, maybe we can also randomize them. So everyone with a good screenie could give the site a new background pattern. That'd be nice!

The screen you used looks indeed nice, who made it? Devil Just kidding. I can't promise anything for the next days though, university starts in 7 hours. My holidays are over!
_________________
Napoleonic Era Project Leader


** Support me to support NE **

Test your Age of Empires knowledge in my
Grand Age of Empires quiz! King Green!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Alexander The Great
French Conscript
French Conscript


Joined: 26 May 2010
Posts: 41
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 10:59 am    Post subject:

Well thank you! Pleased

But I need to know which are maximum size of icons and other graphics like columns and cell headers background pictures.
I can start do something and then we see is it good enough.

The background is nice, isn't it? It was really easy to make, it takes about 3 minutes. coffee For real, Tilanus I think you had made one of my favourite Screenie, thanks for that.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Force
Italian Utili
Italian Utili


Joined: 27 Jan 2011
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 9:29 pm    Post subject:

Tilanus Commodor wrote:
Ha, I have been asking myself the same. I'll have a look on this. Wink


Awesome, thanks!

Quote:
The screen you used looks indeed nice, who made it? Devil Just kidding. I can't promise anything for the next days though, university starts in 7 hours. My holidays are over!


Least you got holidays.. Lucky ass bastard Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alexander The Great
French Conscript
French Conscript


Joined: 26 May 2010
Posts: 41
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:42 pm    Post subject: Pictures

Ok! I think I had finished first package of graphics. now it going to look like this:
Arrow http://www.kotikone.fi/AOE3/screens/screenie2.png
There's lots of headers text colours which need to be change, sorry for that.

Next I start with the icons. Smile

And could you do favour? Change order of main menu like this:
Home | About | Nations | Units | Maps | Downloads | Gallery
Gallery are annoying, because it goes to different kind of page. If it's last it's somehow practical. And that new order feels better anyway. Think about it, please.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tilanus Commodor
NE Commander
NE Commander


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 5080
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:54 pm    Post subject:

I dislike. Not as good as before. I'll look for the resolutions though.
_________________
Napoleonic Era Project Leader


** Support me to support NE **

Test your Age of Empires knowledge in my
Grand Age of Empires quiz! King Green!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Alexander The Great
French Conscript
French Conscript


Joined: 26 May 2010
Posts: 41
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:12 pm    Post subject:

Hmm... I disagree. Neutral

You dislike those headerbars, though? They are looking good if thinking whole site, for now there's lots of bars what looking weird because main bar is lighter colour than bottom bar. But I can still keep looking another solutions.

Do you still like main menu background and sidebars (tabs)?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Dude
NE Assistant
NE Assistant


Joined: 13 Mar 2010
Posts: 1709
Location: Somewhere you don't know

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:15 pm    Post subject:

I like it, but the header doesn't match.
_________________
Alea iacta est.
-The die is cast-

-Julius Caesar

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum Index -> Website feedback All times are GMT
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 14 of 15

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group | Page design by Tilanus Commodor & michfrm.